In the Spirit of Thanksgiving

In the Spirit of Thanksgiving

It’s that time of year again! That time of year everyone is preparing themselves for the holidays and preparing to surround themselves with family and friends and reflect on the previous months. It’s always an exciting time when you can reflect and see the growth you’ve made from the previous season to the new season you are in. Each time a season ends it comes with a lesson learned, or at least it should. I’m so thankful for the things I have learned in the previous season of my life and I am so looking forward to the things I’m going to learn in this new season.

broken

As I look back on the past ten, almost eleven months of 2013 I can honestly say it’s been a good year. Of course it’s had its ups & downs but what would life be without them?! I’ve lost some relationships only to gain better ones and realized that everybody saying they’re pulling for you aren’t really pulling for you. I’m so thankful for second and third chances because I am so undeserving. I’m thankful for the opportunity to reinvent myself and realize the full potential I possess. Looking back at the young woman I was at the beginning of 2013 I was so broken and in such a dry and barren place. The young lady I am now is present in her life, mending the brokenness, and reevaluating her worth. For so long I was insecure and afraid to get to really know me, I was lonely. I didn’t show that to the outside world though because I didn’t want to be judged for being a human with scars; so I put a smile on my face and pretended like everything was peaches and cream. Today I am so thankful that I no longer have to front and act like all my t’s are crossed and i’s are dotted. I’m thankful that I am no longer ashamed to say I have scars & I have been hurt by people close to me. I am thankful that my heart won’t allow me to hate although to the world I have absolutely every reason to. I’m thankful for closed doors and locked windows & humble beginnings. I am thankful that God still sees something in me & won’t allow me to give up on myself. I am thankful for the opportunity to share my story & to tell if not but one person hang in there! It has to get better! Last but not least I am thankful for the people that believed in me, believe in what I am & believe in what I have the possibilities to be. The people that push me when I don’t have the strength to push myself, for people who want to see me do better and won’t give up to they see the better. That is what I’m thankful for.

thankful

Tis the season of gratitude, be grateful for everything even if it seems so tiny. Someone, somewhere doesn’t have it as good as you.

Let us know why you’re thankful!

Happy Thanksgiving đŸ™‚

-NĂ©kia

Leave a Reply

