No Longer Bound

No Longer Bound

Image
According to Dictionary.com bondage is defined as:
1.slavery or involuntary servitude; serfdom.
2.the state of being bound by or subjected to some external power or control.
3.the state or practice of being physically restrained, as by being tied up, chained, or put in handcuffs, for sexual gratification.
4.Early English Law. personal subjection to the control of a superior;villeinage.
In this case the word bondage goes along with definitions 1, 2, and 4. So many ppl are bound by unnecessary things for unnecessary reasons. Bondage can keep you from living your best life because when you look at it you are serving something that isn’t serving you.
For a long time I was bound by several things that my flesh would just not let go of. It was difficult for me to let these things go so easily because they enticed my flesh, they were something my fleshly nature desired no matter how destructive it was to my spirit man. In that time I couldn’t find the happiness I was seeking, the peace I was seeking, the relationship I was seeking, no matter how thoroughly I sought these things out I was still coming up empty handed. I was bound and unhappy. Then a light bulb went off…seek God. The bible tells us plain as day “He came to set the captives free.” So if he came to set me free why was I running from my freedom?! Lol man my desires had me bound. I was seeking a sin to cast out a sin. In Mark 3, it tells us Satan cannot drive out Satan…a kingdom divided against itself cannot stand. I was seeking Satan to do something he is incapable of doing. I finally committed my life to Christ and vowed to seek him in every circumstance but when I left the altar I still found myself bound by one thing in particular. How is that possible?  Ooooo child let me tell you! I didn’t give that piece of me to Jesus. Why? Because I can handle it duh! At least I thought I could. Everyday I was tormented by this one thing that still had me bound. I didn’t sit in prayer and talk about it, I didn’t read scriptures about it, I did nothing. I just thought I would wake up one day and be totally free. So me knowing that Jesus came to set the captives free and I couldn’t do it alone, I cast that care upon him.  I also know the bible tells me whatever I bind on earth shall be bound in heaven and whatever I loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven, therefore I took my kingdom authority over what was keeping me bound. I bound that demon that was fighting me and loosed my joy and peace because whom the son sets free is free indeed. I had to come to the realization I can’t live the abundant life that Christ came for me to have living bound to my flesh.
Whatever it is that has you bound, you need to bind it and live the abundant life Christ wants you to live. Stop serving something that isn’t serving you!
God wants us to win!
*cues praise team* I am free, praise the Lord I’m free! I’m no longer bound, no more chains holding me. My soul is resting & it’s such a blessing, praise the Lord, hallelujah I’m free!
Galatians 5:1 Stand fast therefore in the liberty by which Christ has made us free, and do not be entangled again with a yoke of bondage.
John 8:36 So if the Son liberates you [makes you free men], then you are really and unquestionably free.
Matthew 18:18 Truly I tell you, whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.
John 10:10 The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.
Love y’all ❤
-Nekia
Leave a Reply

