Realizing Your Worth

Realizing Your Worth

Image

I’ve been through a lot and although everything may seem great now, there were a lot of things that I went through that ultimately made me into the woman that I am today. Not saying that I am perfect by any means but I have come a long way.

One thing that I can say is that I have started to realize my worth.

This did not come overnight either, although I’ve always had good standards for myself and from a young age my mother has always instilled good morals and values in me. The world tells women that our biggest purpose here is to find a man. Because who wants to be the 60 year old without a husband but 20 cats….

And if you think about it society starts brain washing us to think this very early. Barbie has Ken and Cinderella has prince charming and they both live happily ever after.

I felt like my value and worth depended on whether a man loved me or not.

If I was in a relationship I felt wanted, if not I felt lonely and unappreciated.

When you start to feel like the ONLY way you can be happy is when you are in a relationship, then you are BROKEN.

Yes, I was broken .  And the only way you can be completed or feel whole is by building a relationship with God.

When I started to learn more about my father (God) that’s when I began to realize my worth.

I am a child of GOD! YOU are a child of God.

Psalms 139:14  “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

We have to remember that we are wonderfully made!

Genesis 1:27 “So God created man in his own image,  in the image of God he created him;
male and female he created them.”

01self-worth-600So if God thought enough about us to create us in His own image that makes us all special. We should feel honored and a certain self appreciation and self worth about ourselves because after all we are the children of God.

So do not let a man set your worth or value for you, you have to realize your own worth before you even began to think about getting into a relationship.

Don’t look for someone to complete you rather find someone to compliment you. If you feel they complete you that suggest that you were not whole to begin with. Your significant other should complement you, not complete you.

I know too many women who will sacrifice their own happiness, morals and values for a man, just because they don’t want to feel lonely. And trust me, you will never obtain your “Adam” that way. And yes ladies, men can spot a “thirsty” (overly-eager) woman.

We also have to be mindful of what we put out for the public to see because perception is everything if you’re always showing your goodies on social networks for attention you will end up attracting the wrong man and the man that you ultimately want to attract is not going to have any respect for you.

You must respect yourself: mind, body and soul. So do not compromise your standards for anyone. Know that you deserve someone who is not going to disrespect you in ANY way, shape or form.

One day I had to realize that if I truly realized my worth that I wouldn’t continue to give my body away to a man who did not yet deserve it or drink to defile the organs that god created.

My whole outlook on life started to change. And I can’t help but think that if more women would get to know God and truly realize their worth , we wouldn’t have women settling for less than they deserve or accepting that their husbands are cheating because he’s a professional basketball player or even continue to have sex before marriage. Or defiling our bodies with alcohol because we want to “turn up” or getting high so we can feel a moment of what we think is bliss, but you have no idea. You think you are living now? Wait until you find out what God can do for you.

So ladies do not let a man determine your worth because God has already proved how precious and worthy you are.

Now you just have to realize it.

-Brea

5 thoughts on “Realizing Your Worth

  1. I absolutely love this post. Over the past few months I have been dealing with a really bad break up, which has led me to be in relationships where I was constantly sacrificing my happiness. I have always realized my self worth but this post has reinforced it even more!!

Leave a Reply

