Build the Right Foundation

Build the Right Foundation

Image

Have you ever found yourself on a shaky foundation? I have on more than one occasion. On a couple of those occasions the very foundation I built on fell apart. How could I have not known it was going to do so!? Well, I did but I kept on building. I kept building on a shaky foundation because that’s what my flesh wanted and for some time I tricked myself into believing surely if this is what my flesh wants my spirit must want this also. I put my spiritual welfare on mute for a long time because I was so convinced this (in this case a male) was for me. Although this guy was clearly not for me I was going to make him for me!! Red flag numero uno: he didn’t believe in Jesus. I should have walked out then but no I kept pressing. I was thinking you grew up in a church, you’re just going through a phase, surely one day you’re going back to Jesus and I’m going to help you get back quicker. Lol such a fool! Red flag numero two: he was draining my spirit. There was a disconnect spiritually. I kept praying, I kept reading my bible, etc but I wasn’t in the same place spiritually and it was starting to manifest physically. My heart was beginning to change from the things of God to the things of this world. All the while God was sending me signs to say, “daughter cut it off, this isn’t my best.” The disobedient, hard-headed child I am was like, “God you gotta chill.” But all along I KNEW! Anyways what led to his dismissal from my life was the fact he called me to tell me he was making amends with his ex-girlfriend. Maaaaaaaannn that’s something that would make Peter curse. I was taken aback, a little heartbroken but sad to say it didn’t take me by surprise. I said all this to say sometimes God will come and shake the very foundation of your life to make you realize he is no longer the foundation you’re building upon. He will tap you on the shoulder and say, “hey! what you doing? you’re not doing this for me so why are you doing it?” But the thing about God is he will always send you little warning signs to say this isn’t my doing & give us time to get it right. Warnings always come before destruction. For me I usually ignore all the signs and I wait to see it his way when I crash head on into a brick wall and my feelings are hurt. Don’t be like me! If you know God isn’t in it, don’t do it. Don’t make an idol out of what your heart wants. Sometimes God shakes our foundations to redirect our focus and to make us realize he is Lord. Starting over is not always a bad thing, it gives you another chance to get it right. God is so gracious and so loving to even give us another chance to get something right. He’s faithful!

1 Corinthians 3:11 For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.

Ezekiel 13:14 So I will tear down the wall which you plastered over with whitewash and bring it down to the ground, so that its foundation is laid bare; and when it falls, you will be consumed in its midst. And you will know that I am the LORD.

Jeremiah 17:9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; Who can know it?

God wants us to win!

-Nekia

Leave a Reply

