What are you feeding yourself?

What are you feeding yourself?

Love-Hip-Hop

One thing I’ve had to realize is that what you watch and listen to has a very big affect on your spiritual life! This was a very hard concept for me to swallow especially since I am a fan of reality TV shows and social media. But I had to ask myself an important question, is this song or show  benefiting my spiritual life? The answer was absolutely not! Watching shows like Love and Hip Hop where adultery,vulgar language,premarital sex and violence are glorified is not exactly what I call spiritually enlightening. Believe it or not, just by watching these types of shows it can cause you to go backwards in your spiritual life. You have to be very careful with what you are feeding yourself especially spiritually. The devil is just looking for a way to change your mindset and to get you off track. By watching these type of shows you may start to think well, maybe its okay to sleep with a man before marriage or maybe its okay to use profanity if I’m angry to express my feelings. We must remember that the things we feed into our spirit are a reflection of what is going to come out. 

If we are trying to grow in the spirit we have to feed ourselves spiritual food, which is the word of God! Matthew 4:4 “It is written that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of God” 

Music can also become distracting! 

Ask yourself this, when you listen to a love song how does that make you feel? Does it bring up a certain emotion inside of you. Does it make you think about a loved one, a crush, an ex or about your lack of love life? If so then this proves my point exactly. 

If you are constantly listening to songs that talk about sex, 9 times out of 10 you are probably thinking about the sexual things that the lyrics are describing or talking about. This causes your mindset not to be focused on the things of God but now you have caused a lustful spirit to arise. 

When you are starting to live for God you don’t want any chance for the devil to come and throw you off of your foundation. Temptation and distractions are everywhere that is why we must guard our hearts. Proverbs 4:23 “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.” 

One thing that I have learned is that you never want to be starving spiritually, not when God has provided you with an endless amount of spiritual food! You have to pick up your cross daily and meditate in the word. God is preparing you for the test and trials that are coming your way. 

Sometimes we wonder why we are at a stand still in our spiritual lives, why we feel like we have no energy to progress. I’ve gone through this plenty of times and I really had to evaluate what I was feeding my spirit. Instead of listening to gospel I was listening to songs that had nothing to do with pleasing God, watching tv shows that glorified the wrong things and scrolling down a timeline on social media websites that were definitely not helping encourage me spiritually. On top of that I was not spending enough time with God, my creator! 

I was spiritually starving myself,  from the good stuff and instead I was feeding myself junk food from the world, what did I expect!  The Bible says to “… Crave pure spiritual milk so that by it you may grow up in your salvation.” 2 Peter 2:2

spiritual milk

So I just want to encourage you guys to feed yourself with the word of God, and to push aside things that are not benefiting you spiritually. It’s time to get real about our walk with God, and if this is a struggle for you then simply ask God to help you deal with this situation. Ask him to take away the desires of things that are not like him and to help you desire the things that are pleasing to his eyes. 

I love you, God loves you, Be blessed 

-Brea 

 

2 thoughts on “What are you feeding yourself?

Leave a Reply

