Why I Dislike Valentine’s Day

Why I Dislike Valentine’s Day

i-hate-valentines-day-netflix-valentines-movies

                Okay, so it’s not that I don’t like Valentine’s Day I just hate what the day does to people. There are 365 days in a year and this one day somehow dictates how loved you are. Excuse me but buying me heart shaped candy and a teddy bear that I’m probably never going to utilize does not mean that you love me. However the actions that are expressed towards me throughout the other 364 days of the year tell me a lot.

I also can’t wrap my head around why people get so emotional about a day…posting sad quotes on social networks about being alone, because clearly being alone on Valentine’s Day is somehow the end of the world. Or the people who don’t want to admit that they really do care about Valentines Day so they make post like “ like my status if you really don’t give a crap about Valentine’s Day”….Really? Like we can’t see through your cry for attention.

But the thing I dislike the most is that people really don’t realize how loved they are. They have a father who has sacrificed, forgiven and pursued their hearts continuously but still don’t see that they are loved. How sad is it to go through life blind to the only love that truly matters. Searching for temporary pleasures from any soul that will give them a dying rose, but God gave his only son. Some may think that I’m digging to deep but I don’t think I’ve dug deep enough.

Valentine’s Day is supposed to be a day that you show how much you appreciate the person that you love. But how often do we take time to appreciate the one who defines love within himself. The very first person who first loved you, before you even had the capability to love.

Do you even know what love is? Or have you let the world define love for you? If you think that someone buying you things and having sex with you is love then you truly have no idea.  I believe that you cant began to process the real definition of love without first knowing God, because God is love.

1 John 4:8 “Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

I wrote this blog because I don’t even want you to think that you are alone this Valentine’s Day. I want you to know that you are loved by the one and only God! And he shows how much he cares about you every second of every day of the year. Don’t let this day make you feel less of a man/woman because your relationship status is single. If you have a relationship with God you have the only relationship that really matters.

I love you, God loves you, God bless!

P.S. I’m not saying that being in a relationship is a bad thing. A relationship built on the foundation of God is a great thing. My boyfriend knows that I love him very much, but the main reason I fell was because his love and passion for the things of God. A man without God is nothing (remember that).

-Brea

Leave a Reply

